I Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans…

12 Feb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been missing New Orleans a lot lately. Whether its watching a show that I used to watch on my comfy floral couch, chatting on Facebook with friends I used to work with, drinking at a New Orleans themed bar on Hollywood Blvd. with friends from New Orleans, and every single time I remember I can’t get a to-go cup for my alcohol…

I want to walk into Monkey Hill, say hey to all my friends, get a fattening delicious chocolate raspberry martini made by Angela for like, $3 or free probably, while Lauren, Shelly, Austin, Carlos, Mike, and many more are next to me taking shots of GrandMa and tipping everyone too much because that’s just what we do; hang out for hours, and end up at Ms. Maes on accident (as usual) until 7:30am.

I want to go running in Audubon Park on the outside dirt path and run especially fast only along Magazine Street so all the cars in traffic think I’m fast. I want to go to the Bulldog with Shannon and Jahzy and Trish and get Abita Purple Haze on draft from all the bartenders that know me and then go across the street to Balcony Bar to see if there are any decent guys there (usually not, usually nowhere).

I want to go shopping on Magazine Street. I want to go to the French Quarter and see all my darlings at UAL that I miss so much and acquire some fantastic garments that I’ll have no reason to wear while having witty banter nonstop with my old coworkers-turned-friends, followed by craft night at Kayla’s.

I want to go to the Marigny and pop in and out of music clubs on Frenchmen St.

I want to be able to get home from work, take a nap, watch a movie, have dinner, shower, and then leave my house around midnight to meet friends for drinks on a Friday night, knowing we’ll be able to stay out as long as we want-no time limits, no last call…

I want to enter the Dana Center and get a steaming hot Gingerbread Latte from CC’s, the best coffee in the planet, and see Jahzy, Claire, and gaggles of DG’s between classes.

To all my loves in New Orleans, I miss you and everything we used to do together! I can’t wait until Shannon’s wedding in October, I will be spending plenty of time there and want to hug you all!

6 Responses to “I Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans…”

  1. Mom February 12, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Okay now I’m really crying!!! LOL seriously that made me cry because I’m so happy you had such a wonderful college and after college experience! I’m so glad you had the guts to go that far! It was well worth it. I miss it too!!! Shannon, can I come too!! Hee hee, jk!
    Maybe…..:)

  2. Brian February 12, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Kateeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. I miss you. This made my miss you more. Come back.

  3. Brian February 12, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    made me*

    Silly typos.

  4. Justin Coleman February 13, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    KATE! Oh man!! Not to sound like your ma but that just made me tear up a little too! I miss New Orleans so much too!! I hope you are well and doing Fabulous as always!!

  5. Mike February 13, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    You will live here again. You get “it,” whatever the “it” that NOLA has is, and when you get it, you are always drawn back.

    See you in Octobruary!

  6. Lauren H February 15, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Ok this really made me cry :(. I miss you so much…….you have no idea! I miss our lude conversations at bars after I make you down a few shots of maw maw. I miss you and can’t wait to see you again!

    Love you always!

Leave a Reply

