Let’s Have A Baby!

4 Dec

Ok so here’s my life update.

I have a job. For now. My job is over sooner than I want to acknowledge. My job has an expiration date. That completely freaks me out. I refuse to wait tables and work in retail again. I. Can’t. Do. It. Again.

I am finally starting to bring my bank account balance up from $0.00 which is feeling good, but it won’t be enough to hold me over without having a job.

I haven’t taken an improv class yet because I can’t afford it yet. January is the month I WILL START.

My mother has decided that I should get pregnant and move home so that we can raise a baby together. She knows this is her only shot at me moving home. Much like a wealthy man trying to get ‘tricked’ into having a baby with a crazy lady…

I sort of feel like I left New Orleans to start a new life, but it seems so far that I’m living the same life in a different city.

I work too much. I have about three friends. I actually called my mom the other night because I was bored. This is always a mistake.

Her solutions to my problems:

Clean.

Pay bills.

Move home and have a baby.

Or just move home.

Nothing that I am willing to do.

I usually end the conversation that I started by saying:

“I don’t want to do this anymore. Bye” (and by ‘this’ I mean talk to her. She knows this and usually laughs while we hang up.)

I’ve been emailing Nancy that I miss her. She went to San Diego to film VH1’s Divas Live. The two days I finally get off, Nancy and Preston are out of town, so I spend it alone eating, mentally complaining, and accomplishing only 1/3 of my huge “list of things to do when I finally get a weekday off” list.

I did shower, though, which was good. Couldn’t bring myself to shave my legs, but I thought about it.

Last night I passed out in my bed wearing my shoes, my clothes, and my credentials from SWTS around my neck. Woke up to a text saying “I hope you’re sleeping.”

I was.

Took my clothes off and re-passed out 30 seconds later. I woke up at 8 feeling amazing. I even took a shower before work!

Nancy has had to point out that I’m not, in fact, living the life that I think I am. I should be aware of the fact that technically I am struggling in all aspects of life right now as a tortured artist. I should be aware that I don’t technically have a home. I should have no privacy or rights in where I am currently living (her apartment) and should be eating ramen and raisin bran. I should be emaciated and feel broke.

The problem is, is that I don’t do the whole starving artist thing… I enjoy comfort and serenity and contentness. So even though I should acknowledge the fact that I’m a wandering soul, I don’t. I feel like I have a home. I don’t eat ramen or raisin bran (I actually do eat ramen, but from a restaurant in Van Nuys and I pay almost $10 for it, plus I just don’t like raisin bran right now.) I have a job (for now) and in one month I get free health insurance again!! (Thanks Dad’s work and Obama’s healthcare reform!)

I really don’t feel like I’m struggling.

This mainly has to do with the fact that I don’t think my life is difficult. I feel very grateful for everything I have. I have the ability to make money. I have somewhere to sleep at night. I eat good food. That’s really all that I need. That and anti-anxiety medications. I think those help too.

Granted, I do want more friends and an amazing social life, but I’ve only been here for a few months, and that will take time.

Overall I feel comfortable. For now. I’m sure I’ll be back in January panicking… if my meds run out, that is… otherwise I’m sure I’ll still feel fine.

Also, I’m only having a baby with Nancy. We decided that if gay couples can have babies together, why can’t two sisters? So. I’ll let you when that starts happening. Probably in about 5-7 years. We want to be cool, rich momsters (mom/sisters).

 

2 Responses to “Let’s Have A Baby!”

  1. Shirin December 4, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Hello =) Just wanted to express that I enjoy reading your blog. Highly entertaining. I greatly admire that you are following your dreams as I plan to embark on a similar journey… hopefully sooner than later. Maybe I shall see you in LA and you will have 4 friends!

    • Kate Thornton December 5, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks Shirin! I hope you are doing well!! xo

Leave a Reply

