Facebook is for Friendships

30 Nov

So now that http://www.Facebook.com has this new “See Friendship” thing, that in fact has been around forever entitled “Wall-to-Wall,” I decided to reminisce and browse through some ‘friendships.’ First I went to Brian. We had some of the best witty banter conversations I’ve ever experienced. I mean we could go on for hours, never breaking sarcasm.  We once had an entire day conversation where Brian explained Catholicism to me.

I am not a religious person. I get it. I appreciate it. I don’t buy it.

Brian was raised Catholic. He is also gay. These two things, as you may know, don’t reeeaaallllyyyy mix.

I wish you could have been there. I asked questions like,

What happens if you do something bad?

And he’d respond

You go to hell. Unless you go to confession and repent. Then you’re cleared.

And then I would ask

So I can kill someone and then apologize and it’s wiped off my slate?

And he’d say

Yes. Pretty much. But you have to say a certain amount of Hail Marys. And then probably not do anything other bad things.

So is it like 3 strikes and you’re in Hell for sure?

No. And yes. It’s complicated, Kate. You can’t really expect me to explain it.

So Catholicism is complicated?

Oh very complicated. So complicated that it contradicts itself almost always.

Ok. Well what is the basis of Catholicism?

Well, a magical man lives in the sky and one day he decided to create Earth. And then six days later Earth was done. And then he was really tired and he relaxed.

Is he a wizard?

I guess you could call him a wizard.

Anyways… we literally conversed like that for a whole day, in front of customers and all. Got some awesome looks. We never really cared that people thought we were crazy. We definitely enjoyed having an audience. Performers. Entertainers. Crazy.

Brian Paul Falgoust–>Kate Maurice Thornton

So into asking you what you are doing tonight.

What are you doing tonight?

January 26, 2009 at 6:27pm · Like · Comment

Brian Paul Falgoust –>Kate Maurice Thornton

I’m really into khaki right now. So like, do you have anything khaki? Maybe a hat or some socks?

January 9, 2009 at 11:39pm · Like · Comment

Brian Paul Falgoust–>Kate Maurice Thornton

That dress you’re wearing would really compliment my figure.

January 27, 2009 at 6:13am · Like · Comment

Kate Maurice Thornton–> Brian Paul Falgoust

ugh so not into studying for my psych test tomorrow… because i feel like i would look really good tonight at a bar uptown in a dress the color of the shirt you’re wearing. that color looks great on me.

January 26, 2009 at 7:23pm · Like · Comment


Here are some moments from my friendship with Rikki:

Kate Maurice Thornton–>Rikki L. Thornton

Found your retirement center…

Man builds cat-sized village for homeless cats

Craig Grant with catscat Wal-Mart

September 17 at 11:55am · Like · Comment

Kate Maurice Thornton–>Rikki L. Thornton

“but dont worry… im hiding in a place where you dont even know. with sunflower seeds. and my knife.”

October 27, 2009 at 1:42pm · Like · Comment

Stephanie Michelle Driscoll likes this.


Kate Maurice Thornton
–>
Rikki L. Thornton

heyy soo im gonna kill you. 100% embarassing. 2 years ago, awful hair, tons of fat, thanks a lot.

February 2, 2009 at 10:20pm · Like · Comment

Kate Maurice Thornton–>Rikki L. Thornton

haha about what nancy said. she makes a good point. anywho, andrew is talking about muscle relaxors, some of the pills ive been taking for my back, and for christmas i want money to pay off my credit card. otherwise, i want you to call me more often and pretend im your older sister who has tons of sisterly advice that you are dying to hear about. plus you need to call me to gossip too. and lastly, i want you to come visit me again even though i havent visited you yet. i love showing everyone how totally radical my family is.
December 11, 2007 at 3:07pm · Like · Comment

Rikki L. Thornton–>Kate Maurice Thornton

yes, well, it would be divine (ugh gagging when i say that word because of how mom says it…) to come and visit you again. but, just like you i love showing off how radical my family is as well, so i think it’s only fair that you come here next. i would be delighted to have you come for Ceasar Chavez day in May. so maybe if we book tickets now it won’t be too expensive!
December 11, 2007 at 3:50pm · Like · Comment


Kate Maurice Thornton–>Rikki L. Thornton

i saw a tampon today

October 2, 2007 at 9:26pm · Like · Comment

Kate Maurice Thornton–>Rikki L. Thornton

you aren’t as pretty as you used to be, just saying… are you ok?

April 28, 2007 at 8:40pm · Like · Comment

Rikki L. Thornton–>Kate Maurice Thornton

kate, are you okay? i had spaghetti tonight.

April 27, 2007 at 10:51pm · Like · Comment

Mother:

Oops!! Does my drawing look like a gun instead of a key???

October 15, 2007 at 11:44am ·  · 
Shannon/Best Roommate Ever
Nancy:

alright, lets just admit it already… we miss each other… we miss having the other person’s warm body all snuggled up in bed while we speak to each other and do things we won’t remember the next day because we’re both asleep. we miss hugging, and tickling, and general neck smelling… come home honey… come home.

September 24 at 6:52pm ·  · 

hi nancy. this is me kate. how is LA? pretty shitty i bet. cant wait till you go back to NY so i can visit. -kate

October 12, 2008 at 3:14pm ·  · 
Jahzy:
dear jahzebe,
it was so great seeing your mom and sisters today, i cant believe how long its been! you looked really really good and especially skinny, so im glad for you and your enormous boobs also. Now that im fat and flat, you’re better than i am. on another note, cant wait to see you at my sweet mixer on sunday night, things are gonna maybe get crazy i think. well, see you soon jahzy,
my regards,
kate maurice.
Leave a Reply

