I’m An Idiot This Week

8 Nov

Ok so basically I’ve consecutively embarrassed myself more in the past 3 days than I have in a long time.

On Monday it was Michelle’s* birthday. Michelle is the accountant in the office I work in.  Usually on someone’s birthday the other office assistant picks up balloons and a card.  On Monday I was in charge of circulating the birthday card to every crevice of the office.  The card circulation began around 9am.  At 1:00pm I received a call from Amy.*

Sometimes in my line of work I receive instructions to deliver a message to someone else.  Sometimes I don’t understand what I’m relaying but I do so anyways, no questions asked, because I assume the person I’m delivering the message to will understand.

Amy told me that she had finished signing Michelle’s card and I should figure out who else needs to sign it. This didn’t make sense to me because I was very involved in a project I was working on at the moment. Naturally I went to relay the message to Michelle about her credit card that we use to purchase a lot of things with for the show.

“Heyyyyyyyyyyyyy Michelllllllllllle. Amy just called and said she finished signing your card and wants to know who else should sign it?” (Followed by a confused look on my face, like, Shrug, I don’t know?)

Michelle didn’t know what I was talking about and I made sure to mention that I had no idea why more than one person would sign the same credit card?

I walk out of her office, ready to embark on a mission to solve this puzzle, when I make eye contact with my boss who is staring at me like I’m an alien.

Oh.

At that eye contact moment I realized what Amy’s encrypted message meant. I’m an idiot.

Amy was CLEARLY talking about the birthday card. I had left it in her office. WOW.

Today I received a call back from an executive from CBS with whom I’d left a message to call me back.

I picked up the phone and said, “Production.”

“It’s *Beth. Hi Kate!”

Apparently this quick get-to-the-point-this-is-who-I-am answer threw me off because I instantly responded with the same bravado,

“Hi Kate!”

I’m an idiot.

Leave a Reply

