Cannibalism or Sex?

19 Oct

Whilst on my lunch break at work, after accidentally being tricked into eating some sort of white meat that was falsely advertised at tuna, I was perusing DiscoveryChannel.com.  I highly enjoy reading the news and educational articles while eating.

One headline caught my eye.

“Earth’s Early Cannibals Caught in the Act: These small, seemingly innocent critters, known as trilobites, had a dark side.”

I clicked on this link, excited to learn about some weird animal eating its mother.  Almost immediately, after seeing said photograph in which scientists decided that one was eating the other, I laughed.

I felt like a little kid walking in on two adults having sex.

“What are you doing? Why are you eating him?! Why is she eating you?!!!”

“Uhmmm. We are, uh,um, uh, yes, eating each other. Yeah, that’s it. We are cannibals.”

There is literally no indication that the bigger creature is eating the smaller one. Maybe they’re snuggling. Maybe the little one was scared of the dark? Maybe the little one was terrified of the dust cloud that was coming towards them to fossilize them? Maybe they’re like Nancy and I and the little one is resting her red head on the bigger one’s knee and whispering “I love you” before bed? You never know.

One Response to “Cannibalism or Sex?”

  1. Mom October 21, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Aaaahahahahaha, that cracked me up!

Leave a Reply

